PROFILE OF THE NCMF (Visayas) Regional Office
A. Background (brief history)

On June 30, 1984, Executive Order No. 969 was signed by the then President Ferdinand E. Marcos creating the Office of Muslim Affairs and Cultural Communities through the merger of the then Presidential Assistant on National Minorities (PANAMIN) with the former Ministry of Muslim Affairs (MMA).

The fusion of the two government agencies, which were performing parallel functions and engaged in the pursuit of common objectives, was a result of a political consensus designed to give greater impetus to the quest for national unity and development.

The office maintains regional offices in the following places, viz:

 National Capital Region (|BMA and BNM)
 Baguio City (BNM)
 Tuguegarao, Cagayan (BNM)
 San Fernando, Pampanga (BNM)
 Zamboanga City (BMA and BNM)
 Cagayan de Oro City (BNM)
 Davao City (BMA and BNM)
 Cotabato City (BMA and BNM)
 Marawi City (BMA)

A glance at the organization structure of the Office, the non-inclusion of the Visayas Regions is vividly noticeable. Maybe the small number of tribal community and the failure of the Muslim scattered all over the regions to form an integration into a viable community at that time might be the reason.

Nevertheless, through the appointment and initiative of Honorable Simeon A. Datumanong as Minister of the Office in 1985, a Bureau of National Minority (BNM) Service Centers has been established in Nagpana, Lipata, Barotac, Viejo in Iloilo and Marikudo, Isabela in Negros Occidental. The Bureau of Muslim Affairs (BMA) National Capital Region had also extended its arms by establishing an Extension Office at Cebu City.

Partial autonomy was enjoyed by the Cebu Extension Office from the National Capital Region when it was transformed into an Interim Regional Office by Honorable Candu I. Muarip who was then installed by the Aquino government as Minister of the Office when they come to power in 1986. Mr. Pendatun Antham was then designated as Acting Regional Director.

Meanwhile, the National Government under the leadership of Her Excellency Corazon C. Aquino, in its bid to achieve political stability and to hasten the emergence of a truly democratic and service-oriented system of government, its agencies and instrumentalities in order to promote efficiency and effectiveness in the delivery of public services through Executive Order No. 5 series of 1986, it deemed necessary to strengthen the Office on Muslim Affairs. She then ordered the reorganization of the Office of Muslim Affairs and Cultural Communities splitting into three agencies such as: The Office for Northern Cultural Communities, Office for Southern Cultural Communities and the Office on Muslim Affairs after affirming that an adequate representation of the members the cultural communities in the policy-making councils of the government will strengthen national unity and to further ensures the unabated delivery of basic services to its own clientele, thus, opens vast opportunities towards self-improvement and growth to enhance the prospect of a better and brighter future for them.

With the able leadership of Honorable Jiamil I. M. Dianalan who was then appointed by the President as Secretary for the Office on Muslim Affairs after its creation on January 30, 1987 by virtue of Executive Order nO. 122-A, the Cebu based office had finally integrated in the OMA organization structure as one of the regular Regional Offices of its nine (9) approved Regional Offices.

OMA Extension Office in Iloilo City and Tagbilaran City were also established which was then abolished in the later years.

On February 18, 2010 R.A 9997 (otherwise known as the Act Creating the National Commission on Muslim Filipinos) was signed into law. The government has indeed re-affirmed its belief on the importance of the active participation of the Muslim Filipinos in nation building with due regard for their beliefs, customs, traditions, institutions and aspirations.

In effect, the Commission, which shall be under the Office of the President, shall take over the functions of the Office on Muslim Affairs (OMA), which is abolished by the said law. Its coverage shall be both local and national affairs involving Muslim Filipinos that include the implementation of economic, educational, cultural, and infrastructure programs for Muslim Filipino communities.

Thus, Office on Muslim Affairs Regional Office no. 6, 7, and 8 was replaced with National Commission on Muslim Filipinos (Visayas) covering Regions 6, 7, 8 and 18 ( newly created region- Negros Island Region).